Rifle Kits

TheBumper78

Cadet
Hi all. This may get long and I apologize but here goes. I’m an avid hunter and I love shooting and hunting with my 50 cal flintlock. I also have been looking hard recently at Model 1861 Springfields. I found a “build it yourself” kit that Traditions makes. I guess ultimately my question is can anyone just build it? I’m no woodworker but I can sand paper or file if needed for final fit and finish. Has anyone ever built a rifle kit? Could a complete novice build a rifle successfully? Thanks in advance for any replies!

I'm sure "anyone" could build a Traditions kit, but judging from their their hawken style rifles, I'm not sure how historicaly correct they would be.

I've built kit rifles before, but not a Tradition kit.

If youre looking for a non-civil war rifle for hunting purposes, I highly recommend
Kiblerslongrifles.com. I have both of the two kits he offers.
Historically accurate and excellent shooters, and in my opinion, the best value in a kit gun.

If all it needs is a little sanding, staining, and final fitting you should be fine. All the components of a Springfield pin, band or screw through the stock. You should be able to produce a safely shootable arm from their parts. I can't speak to the historical accuracy of the kit, but the actual assembly isn't very complex.

Just made my first trip to the Smoky’s in Tennessee in May. Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge. We came back to MD via 40 to 85 in NC. Beautiful rugged country out there. Never associated mountains to NC before that trip.

I’m not reenacting....Yet. I’m interested though. But I understand the historical part of it. An 1861 would not have “Italy” nor a serial number stamped on the barrel.

I'm sure "anyone" could build a Traditions kit, but judging from their their hawken style rifles, I'm not sure how historicaly correct they would be.

I've built kit rifles before, but not a Tradition kit.