Revolving rifle identification

JackADriscoll

Sergeant
Hello experts,

I found this revolving rifle at a local gun shop for 2 thousand. It is carbine length, has an octagon barrel. It has seven shots. It looks to be in the 44 cal range. It has no markings at all except it says texas rangers on the top of the barrel. When you cock it the cylinder goes counter clockwise. I am sorry I only have one picture but thats all I could sneak. Anyone have any ideas? I cannot find anything on it anywhere. The barrel is rifled. It does not even have a serial number. Thanks for your help. Its a real mystery.

thumbnail.jpg

Hi, at first look, it seems to be a Paterson Colt Revolving Rifle from the 1830's/1840's, but I'm not a real expert. I've only practised black powder shooting while collecting pieces of information about old guns of the 19th Century. I don't know if the Paterson had this kind of counter-clockwise system for the rotation of the cylinder. On the other hand, I think that this nice trigger-guard is typical of the Paterson rifle models. Here are some pictures taken from the web, showing a Colt Paterson 1839 Revolving Rifle. This looks pretty much like your mystery rifle :
1597402958490.png

1597403048712.png

The lack of markings can be explained by the extensive use of this weapon by many people through the years, with "improvments" and attrition brought by each (I had this kind of problem with a Remington Rolling Block 1867 Rifle from the "Défense Nationale", used as an hunting rifle when the Franco-Prussian War was over). But this has to be verified. The Texas Rangers may have been the first official users of Colt weapons, so this can justify the mention of it on the top of the barrel.

Little update. I bought it. Its 38 inches long. Its above .45 cal, but less than a 577 Minie. It has a serial number of 1. I cannot find anything else on it so it either never had it or time has worn it away. Mechanically its still sound which surprises me.