Newbie from Oklahoma - Hello

trialsz63

Cadet
I am a descendant of several Civil War soldiers, most all of whom were Confederates, but not all of them were. I've been researching my family history since about 2002 and have gathered some of the information I've been looking for with regard to the Civil War ancestors, but I've just recently started looking into their military service in more depth. The folks I'm actively searching for now are:

Cornelius Marion Hardy - 1st Battalion Georgia Sharpshooters
Madison Falls - started out as a Confederate (TN), deserted, and then went to fight for Co. I, 11th Cavalry Regmt. KY

I have lots of questions about both of these men, and lots of questions in general about Civil War military life and other information. I'm looking forward to discussing the service of these - and other - Civil War soldiers!

Welcome from Georgia. Look around and get familiar with the place. It is sure there are folks here that either know the answers you seek or will at the very least find answers for you.

Welcome to the forum trailsz63.

welcome-header.jpg

Greetings from Texas.

I'll move your post to sub-forum, Family History and Ancestry Research where some members should be able to help you find more information about your ancestors' military service.

Respectfully,
Chellers

I have read parts of this book and have been in contact with Russell Brown. His information was very enlightening and gave me good leads toward learning more about the Georgia Sharpshooters.