165th New York

Kurt G

2nd Lieutenant
This is a bust by Linjo Models. It is about 3" tall . It looks OK in the first image , but in the second one you can see a problem .The eye on the right of the image is smaller than the eye on the left . It is also farther away from the nose and higher on the head . I didn't notice this until I started painting . I considered making an eye patch for it , but I'm guessing a private missing an eye would be in the Veteran Reserves and would have a completely different uniform . Oh well. I got it on clearance .

IMG_3381.JPG

IMG_3390.JPG

I am not a modeler, but you will find that each side of a person's face is VERY different from the other side.
I've seen where clear, crisp full on head shot photos are divided right down the middle, and each side mirror imaged to replace the "other side" and you can hardly believe that the "two right side" man is the same guy as "two left side" man!
I don't know what sort of original was used to make this model, but it might be that what you have seen is a sign it was from life, not imagination!

This is a bust by Linjo Models. It is about 3" tall . It looks OK in the first image , but in the second one you can see a problem .The eye on the right of the image is smaller than the eye on the left . It is also farther away from the nose and higher on the head . I didn't notice this until I started painting . I considered making an eye patch for it , but I'm guessing a private missing an eye would be in the Veteran Reserves and would have a completely different uniform . Oh well. I got it on clearance .

View attachment 351291

View attachment 351292
I am an Optometrist, it is not unusual for the left and right eyes to be different heights or one eye to be higher than the opposite eye.