1. Welcome to the CivilWarTalk, a forum for questions and discussions about the American Civil War! Become a member today for full access to all of our resources, it's fast, simple, and absolutely free!
Dismiss Notice
Join and Become a Patron at CivilWarTalk!
Support this site with a monthly or yearly subscription! Active Patrons get to browse the site Ad free!
START BY JOINING NOW!

Help Build a Reconstruction Timeline Reconstruction150

Discussion in 'Post Civil War History, The Reconstruction Period' started by Pat Young, Mar 6, 2016.

1. Pat Young

Pat Young Brev. Brig. Gen'l Forum Host Featured Book Reviewer

I have been trying to collect resources on Reconstruction for CWT for the last 9 months. One thing I have had a hard time fining is a really comprehensive Reconstruction timeline. So, I started building one myself.

I am a long way from finishing, and I am fairly new to the subject. Anyone have any suggestions for stuff that should go on it? If you do, please post the event, the date it happened, and, if possible, a link to more info. I will try to put the info you send on the timeline.

AndyHall and chellers like this.

2. (Membership has it privileges! To remove this ad: Register NOW!)
  3. Pat Young

4. Bee

Bee 1st Lieutenant Asst. Regtl. Quartermaster Gettysburg 2017

Great idea, Pat. I just pulled out my "Reconstruction Notes" from the 4 or 5 videos that I have watched on the topic. I may have missed it on your timeline, so feel free to tell me. (looks like obsessive note-taking comes in handy)

Freedmen Bureau Established Mar 3, 1865 The temporary Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands (known as the Freedmen's Bureau) is established within the War Department.

Pardon’s Issued May 1865 Johnson's strict pardon policy has been abandoned; wealthy planters are quickly brought back into the union. By September, hundreds of pardons were being issued in a single day—some 13,000 in all.