Where Were These Discussesd? Ozark, Signal, One more- Gunboat?

JPK Huson 1863

Brev. Brig. Gen'l
As usual, am making hash of our search- I think I RE bumped into these but maybe not? Always keep a weather eye out for ships, generally photos surface which are familiar. Pretty sure these will be to both Mark and Andy and not only that you'll have years of service, Captain(s) and when Ozark came into Union service? I have no knowledge this ship was ever Confederate, it's just a guess based on her name- or was she pre-war?

No description on the first, wooden gunboat? Seems a lot too full of 'stuff' to be a mere transport, right? This ship looks like it means business although wooden gunboats always seem so vulnerable to me. Descriptions of what happens inside them when hit in battle are always so awful, dating from the earliest naval battles.

ship1.jpg

ship2.JPG

gunboat ozark.jpg

OK, maybe have seen this before, because I think I remember thinking she looks like a small, unfortunate village afloat- needs a couple chickens on the flat roof. Do not mean to be mean about the boat, just what it looks like, like a houseboat except for that business like gun aft.

gunboat signal.jpg

And a riverboat steamer converted to war time use? What is the meaning of the " 9 " ? OH, tinclad? Here again, always think how vulnerable those massive smokestacks have to be.

Yes, I know beginner questions. Just like ships- pretty happy I stuck to 3 considering the 30 or so there are in this file.

Just a quick pass...

First photo: From the height of the funnel and the look of the masts, I'd call that one of the Unadilla class "90-day gunboats." (There looks like there's another vessel hiding just behind her, though I can't really make out what it is.)