What do you folks think about this supposed "Union Jacket"?

(Membership has it privileges! To remove this ad: Register NOW!)
That's a frock of some kind. The NY state jacket I'm familiar with is a shell/roundabout style jacket. It has some unusual trim, maybe from a militia unit. Hard to tell without seeing the stitching and fabric up close what period it is. I'd have reservations about it too but I'm far from an expert on it. I'm sure one of the uniform experts here will know for sure.

https://atlanta.craigslist.org/sat/atq/d/griffin-military-collection/6834549224.html (first and last photos)

Seller says it's a New York Jacket. I'm not an expert on uniforms, and the price seems to be low... hence my reservation. Any thoughts?
I'll have to double check my reference material when I get time but I do believe you will find that is an 1880s or later frock coat. The cut of the coat, along with the collar style, and the tail decoration all point to post war to me.

That's a frock of some kind. The NY state jacket I'm familiar with is a shell/roundabout style jacket. It has some unusual trim, maybe from a militia unit. Hard to tell without seeing the stitching and fabric up close what period it is. I'd have reservations about it too but I'm far from an expert on it. I'm sure one of the uniform experts here will know for sure.
Thank you! Not sure if I'm 100% interested or not - but for sure I wouldn't be unless it's real. I agree about the militia part - makes sense.

Awesome, thanks Bill for any info you can provide :smile: