What did Grant think of the following?

T

terchris

I am new to this message board,so I apologize in advance if I am asking questions that have already been covered.I am trying to catch up on the other threads. So here goes....

I was surprised to read that Grant was very impressed with Gen.Joe Johnston.It got me thinking about how he felt about a few others and I hope you guys can answer the following questions I have.

(1)What did Grant think of Nathan Forrest?Military wise and personally.I have certainly read what Gen.Sherman has said about him!!!

(2)What did Grant think about George McClellan as a General and personally?

(3)I believe Grant did respect Gen.Lee as a soldier,but how did he feel about him overall?I have heard Grant barely mentions Lee in his memoirs.Havn't read them myself so could you shed some light on that?
(4)Finally I have read that Grant especially disliked Jefferson Davis.That would be fairly obvious as to why.I am curious though as to what Grant actually said or wrote about him.Also how did Grant feel about the lenient punishment that Davis received after the war?
Again hope this isn't repeating anything previously discussed here.Thanks in advance!!!

"Lenient punishment?"
Could you please tell me why Jefferson Davis should have been punished at all?
What did he do?
Did he commit treasonous acts?
Did he force any state to secede?
Did he lead any troops into Washington City?
Did he direct any cannonade of any Northern City killing civilians?
Did he lead troops through sovereign states, burning barns, crops, stealing hogs, chickens, killing cows and horses (btw - Wm Sherman did, and he was celebrated as a hero)
Why should Davis have been punished?
And why should neither Davis nor Lee been denied their citizenship until well into (almost the end of) the 20th Century!

I look forward to your answer.

Regards
Ron Goodwin
historian/archivist
17th Mississippi InfantryExpired Image Removed

Ron,