Virginia Civil War Belt Buckle...Original and Who Wore It?

Tredegar

Cadet
Hi again folks!
I picked up this belt buckle last week at a local auction where it had not been particularly advertised, came in a modern small glass display case.

DSCN3011.JPG

DSCN3009.JPG

I've had a chance to research this piece, but I am still uncertain if it is real or not, from the Civil War period or not, and what it signified?
I collect a number of old things and I have some experience in determining repro or not and I have to say the fine detail, patina, material, and how it presents with the belt attachment broken all looks the part.
It looks stamped and not a recast, but in these times, artisan can make just about anything look authentic.
That said, I'm sure you have to assume repro with these things until proven otherwise and last time I was here thinking I had a cannonball mold, it turned out to be for making a pastry. :wink:
I'd appreciate any assistance and really would like to know more about what it represents, real or no.
Thanks, Chris

Attachments

• DSCN3013.JPG
    DSCN3013.JPG
    150 KB · Views: 231
  • DSCN3015.JPG
    DSCN3015.JPG
    211.1 KB · Views: 201
  • DSCN3016.JPG
    DSCN3016.JPG
    199.8 KB · Views: 365
Last edited by a moderator: