Uniform of the 1st Missouri at Pea Ridge.

major bill

Brev. Brig. Gen'l
Forum Host
Today I visited The Michigan Military History Heritage Museum. Because I am a veteran they let me in for free, but I wanted to contribute something. So I purchased this copy of a painting by Tim Kurtz, who hand signs copies and donates them to the museum to raise money to support the museum. This one was only $15 which is fair for a signed in ink copy.

I like paintings by Kurtz, but i am less sure about the accuracy of some of the uniforms in the paintings. So any thoughts of this Confederate from the 1st Missouri at Pea Ridge in 1862.
mmm.jpg

Civilian clothing is a possibility. Bayonet scabbard appear to be worn on the wrong side. Still I kind of line the painting. The money went to a good cause.

Honestly, I don't know the answer, but I like the rendering. I'll be watching to see what some others have to say.

This is probably supposed to represent the 1st Missouri Brigade in Price's Division, as opposed to the 1st Missouri Infantry Regiment which wasn't at Pea Ridge. I don't think it's a very accurate depiction, though.

The brigade notably received an issue of white undyed wool uniforms prior to the battle.

Ephraim Anderson of the 2nd Missouri Infantry mentions them in his memoirs: