What is this? Unidentified brass plate

CSM P

Cadet
Hello to all, I am new to CivilWarTalk. I retired from the Georgia Army National Guard and a member of the Chatham Artillery. I live just south of Savannah and metal detect any chance I get. I would like to know if anyone could possibly help me identify the lettering on the brass plate I found. The first letter I can't make out, the second is an "L", and the third looks like a "G". I have read about the Sumter Light Guards and Oglethorpe's Light Infantry, but having trouble linking information with the plate. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, CSM P

IMG_20200216_172046.jpg

Welcome from the Shiloh/Pittsburg Landing Forum and North Mississippi! I am sure one of our more knowledgeable members will be along soon to assist you
Regards
David

Hello @CSM P and welcome to CivilWarTalk - the best place on the internet for Civil War discussion.

Maybe someone who knows for sure will come along soon. What does the back of this object look like? Does it have any hooks or wire attachments? Could you take some more pictures in good sunlight? Front and back? Maybe at several slightly oblique angles for the front part where the letters are?

If I was guessing, I'd say any of the following could be the letters:
JLG? or the J might also be a 1
HLG? (Hall Light Guards)
NLG?
The LG part is pretty clear but it could be LC or LO.

Hello @CSM P and welcome to CivilWarTalk - the best place on the internet for Civil War discussion.

Maybe someone who knows for sure will come along soon. What does the back of this object look like? Does it have any hooks or wire attachments? Could you take some more pictures in good sunlight? Front and back? Maybe at several slightly oblique angles for the front part where the letters are?

If I was guessing, I'd say any of the following could be the letters:
JLG? or the J might also be a 1
HLG? (Hall Light Guards)
NLG?
The LG part is pretty clear but it could be LC or LO.