The Causes Of The Civil War; Historian's Point Of View?

Fewer ads. Lots of American Civil War content!
JOIN NOW: REGISTER HERE!
Status
Not open for further replies.

DutchieNL

Cadet
Hi everybody,

I'm a student teacher from the Netherlands and i'm writing a thesis on the causes of the civil war; more precisely, on the different views of historians on the role of abolitionism on the outbreak of the civil war. I can't seem to find any books and articles from historians that kind of "play down" the role of slavery on the civil war.
I would like to hear our suggestions.

Georgia Sixth

Sergeant Major
I also think you'll find this highly useful, a blog post by historian Kevin Levin in which he discusses how people in 19th century America thought about topics such as racial equality, slavery and abolition and exactly what they were saying when they argued about slavery. I'm attaching a pdf I made of his post.

Attachments

Potomac Pride

First Sergeant
A good book on the subject is "The Causes of the Civil War" by the late Kenneth Stampp that was originally published over 50 years ago. This book discusses the political, social and economic issues that resulted in the war. Kenneth Stampp was a Professor of History at the University of California and a noted scholar of the Civil War.

Joshism

Sergeant Major
I can't seem to find any books and articles from historians that kind of "play down" the role of slavery on the civil war.
Perhaps there's a reason for that?

Professor/Historian Stephen Engle has an interesting take on the causes of the war. He argues the war was about States Rights, with the seceded states believing they had more rights out of the Union while the rest of the country believed their rights were protected best by remaining in the Union. (He concurs the primary Southern right perceived as endangered was the right to own slaves so don't mistake him for a Lost Causer.) Some discussion of the subject here:

wausaubob

Major