The Bleak House (a.k.a. Confederate Memorial Hall) is lovingly maintained and cared for by the United Daughters of the Confederacy (Chapter 89). The Bleak House was built as a wedding present for Louise Franklin and Robert Houston Armstrong. It was designed as a Tuscany-style (Italian) Villa and named Bleak House after the famous Charles Dickens novel. During the War Between the States (American Civil War) this beautiful home served as the headquarters for the beloved Confederate Lt. General James Longstreet and Major General Lafayette McLaws during the Siege of Knoxville from November 17th, 1863 thru December 4th, 1863. This house still bears whispers from the past, visible through the bullet holes in the outside, as well as other fascinating remnants you'll find inside. During the Seige of Knoxville, Confederate sharpshooters harassed the troops of Federal Brigadier General William Sanders from the tower of the house. Most historians concur that these sharpshooters inflicted the fatal wound that killed Sanders (Fort Sanders Namesake). A drawing, sketched by an unknown soldier of these three sharpshooters can still be seen today inside the tower walls. Nowadays, the home serves a decidedly more peaceful and happy role as one of Knoxville's premier wedding venues and the home of Chapter 89 of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. This house is listed on the National Register of Historic places. @KLSDAD * The Bleak House (Just West of the University of Tennessee Campus). * The Bleak House Tennessee State Historical Marker. * Confederate Lt. General James Longstreet (Old Pete). * The Civil War Trails Marker. * The Bleak House - Confederate Memorial Hall Marker. * The Bleak House Front Door with Confederate Soldier Grave. * Confederate Private Ephraim Shelby Dodd's Grave. * A Pontoon Bridge Anchor from the Siege of Knoxville (Bridge crossed over the Tennessee River). * The Bleak House Tower. * Sketch of Three Confederate Soldier Sharpe Shooters (Drawn on Tower Wall).