Spencer Army Rifle, 5th Michigan Cavalry

CPT Newcomb

Cadet
This is my first real post here after saying 'hi' in the new recruit area. I hope I don't mess this up. If I was successful in attaching the pictures, I just inherited this rifle last week. I have frankly coveted it since I was a kid. The back story is that someone in Gary, Indiana gave this to my father around 1957 for his help in cleaning out an attic. Apparently the older gent didn't know what it was or didn't care. Even at the age of 17, I knew it was pretty awesome and the serial number gave me a clue that it might be more special than others. I also knew back then that something wasn't right about the front stock.

I'm not an expert on these but from what googling I've done, it appears to be one of the mystical 'first order' rifles that Wiley Sword had only seen 2 or 3 of and were bought by LTC Copeland for the 5th Michigan Cav. It has obviously been modified as the front stock is only 6 inches long and all the metal bands are gone. It was in this condition from the first time I saw it back in the 1980s, so I think the modification was done well before my father got it in 1957. Maybe it was war damage, maybe that was someone's idea of 'demilitarizing' it. It appears to be fully functional. Everything seems to move like it's supposed to.

I know it is very doubtful that I'll be able to tag a name to this piece but if anyone has any insight as to its history, I would appreciate input. I assume by the serial number of 1453, that it went to Gettysburg with the Michigan 5th Cav under Copeland and then Custer. The only markings are the patent stamp on top, the serial number and what looks like the letter "L" under the barrel, right in front of the front stock. If anyone can check the SRS to see if there's a mention of it, I would appreciate it.