siege artillery question

jr baker

Private
I have been wanting to know the siega artillery that would have been at the forts on the Mississippi river what was they mounted on I heard that fort Wright had some of its 32 pounder was mounted with the swivel carriage but what about the rest was they mounted on like a field carriage thanks

I have been wanting to know the siega artillery that would have been at the forts on the Mississippi river what was they mounted on I heard that fort Wright had some of its 32 pounder was mounted with the swivel carriage but what about the rest was they mounted on like a field carriage thanks

I am no expert on this, but I suspect a siege carriage (what you are referring to as a field carriage) would have been unlikely for 32 pdr and above. Siege carriages are for pieces that are designed to be moved and forts are typically not of that nature. I might be mistaken but I believe pieces over ~24 pdr smoothbore would have been too heavy for standard siege carriages. The trunnion diameter is the key (5.82" for the 24 pdr.) Generally, field/siege carriage specs match to a given (or max) trunnion diameter since this is a primary piece of engineering criteria for the carriage. This is matched to tube weight.

As I understand it the guns of Ft. Wright were 32 pdr and greater. This suggests a simple fixed wooden mount with metal wheels and a pintle pivot as is seen in many forts. Front pintle seems the most logical for the very thick walls of the fort (would give max firing arc.) That's just a guess on my part.

4734548764_89f20501fd.jpg

30 lb Parrot on a Siege Carriage. The heaviest form of Siege gun put on a mobile carriage

Expired Image Removed
Model 1829 32 Lb Seacoast Gun on pintle mount or Barbette mount

5069543022_bf7035c082.jpg

42 pounder Seacoast gun on pintle Casemate mount

5439162727_c6a3107e6c.jpg

15 Inch Rodmans on Center pivot Barbette mount iron carriages at Ft McHenry MD