Senior thesis - officer tension

coolwater92

Cadet
Hello everyone,

First post here. I'm a cadet at West Point and I'm working on my senior thesis right now, just looking for any research guidance I can get. I am studying the social politics of the officer corps, and specifically examining the impacts of social tension/promotion competition (if any) on actual unit effectiveness. The two regiments in my case study are the 121st NY (Emory Upton's) and 124th NY, both volunteer units in the Army of the Potomac for the duration of the conflict. I guess my question is does anyone know of good secondary sources on officer motivation? Or any ideas of what I should be looking at to assess these impacts? I have been researching soldier diaries and newspaper clippings, but primary sources are hard to come by. I also haven't found any compelling secondary sources on my topic. Thanks for any help!

Welcome from Canada!:beaver: My first thought was diaries and letters, memoirs, etc., but you seem to have those covered. There is a book or two about West Point and graduates and the War but I cannot remember what they are just now. Someone else will be along to help shortly. We are good like that.

History of the 124th Regiment of New York State Volunteers: the Orange Blossom Regiment
By: Lt. Col. Charles H. Weygant

Hello everyone,