Rotary Blowers Replacing Bellows

Hello. I am brand new to civilwartalk and am looking forward to participating and learning. As a novice blacksmith's apprentice, I have a question that will help me along in preparing a presentation on changes in blacksmithing from 1860 through 1920. This was an interesting period as technology was catching up with a here-to-fore hands-on trade.

Some time ago, a reenactor told me that blacksmiths with Union (wagon) trains carried rotary blowers in lieu of bellows. I have been unable to confirm this statement and blacksmithing history articles are somewhat contradictory as to when blowers were introduced. Some references indicate introduction as early as 1854 while other--manufacturers' histories--seem to focus on the 1880s or 90s. I would appreciate any information that would help to verify or refute the reenactor's comment.

Fewer ads. Lots of American Civil War content!
JOIN NOW: REGISTER HERE!

redbob

Captain
Welcome to the group from middle Alabama and we have several blacksmiths in the group that specialize in Civil War era blacksmithing. Also, try Starkville Civil War Arsenal www.starkvillecivilwararsenal.com and Civil War Blacksmithing by David Einhorn . Good luck on your search.

Kurt G

Sergeant
Welcome from Michigan . I believe bellows were used on the battery forges or traveling forges .

dixie1861

Sergeant
Hi and welcome! Glad that you've joined us! Sorry to say that I can't help you out on the info, but someone will come along shortly that will help you out.

Seduzal

Brigadier General
Welcome to CWT from the Smoky Mountain side of North Carolina. Just jump right in and enjoy.
Just wait a little while and someone will be along to answer your questions. We have a few members here on CWT at are Blacksmiths maybe they can help you.

byron ed

2nd Lieutenant