Recently picked up a original 69 cal. 1842 Springfield musket

rebelyell

Private
I picked up a original Springfield 69 cal. 1842 musket, the barrel and lock are both marked 1842. The metal, bore and lock are in good condition. Lock works perfectly. The wood is pretty dry a few small dry cracks at the butt plate. What would be good to use on the wood to help the dryness ? I am not talking about refinish I want to keep it as original as possiable. I would appreciate any suggestions. hank You

I like Scott's Liquid Gold, it will restore some life to the wood without damaging anything.

Now, I am very interested in your new acquisition. Why? Because there are no known Springfield Model 1842 Muskets actually dated 1842. Even the Springfield Armory records state they didn't make any in 1842. Any hope of you being able to post some photos? I am a long time student of these types of arms and am willing to share any information I may have.
J.

I use lemon oil furniture polish on wood and metal. I remember reading that a well known collector used it on all his high end rare guns.

I use GERLITZ Pure Brazilian Carnauba Wax. Put it on all my guitars. Wonderful stuff. Nice sheen and protectant. Seals the wood from moisture. Check it out at AMAZON or EBAY.

th.jpg

Last edited:
Wax is good and it's reversible. You could also apply a little boiled linseed oil--drops at a time--rubbed on with the palm of your hand. If you do that, wait a couple of days for it to dry and then repeat until you get a sheen to your liking.