Quilts for Veterans

AshleyMel

Sergeant Major
19095548_10209612625540564_3789303719986786234_o.jpg
Not Civil War related but just thought I'd share. Moderators please remove if not allowed.
I belong to two quilting clubs that make and donate quilts to elderly or disabled veterans. The clubs ask for us to work on the blocks and then turn them in to be put together and presented when completed. This is my first year volunteering to help. Half square triangles are featured in the design! Still have to finish the block design but I think I'm off to a good start!
19143310_10209612625580565_1465596967312342831_o.jpg

(Membership has it privileges! To remove this ad: Register NOW!)
Wonderful! Beautiful work. :smile:

We've been on the receiving end of similar kindness, and I can tell you that your efforts are greatly appreciated. Every time I handle our blanket (a crocheted one received 18 years ago), I think about the unknown person who decided to stitch up this bit of comfort for people he/she would likely never meet. I remember wrapping my sick baby girl in it and being overwhelmed by the gesture of love. I doubled checked with the nurse because I was confused, and when she smiled and said, "Yes, it's yours. You keep it." I started tearing up.

(That blanket has been loved by all four humans in our house, and two puppies.)

If I ever break into my quilting cotton stash and start piecing blocks again, I will remember this organization.

AshleyMel

Sergeant Major
Wonderful! Beautiful work. :smile: