"Proper" uniform...

NCjones

Private
I'm looking for help with assembling my confederate uniform the most prototypical way. My SCV camp has a few that dress in uniforms 2 or 3 times a year for various events, but we aren't "pro's" and most of the guys aren't nit-picky about how prototypical they look. I'm aiming for the NC Infantry soldier look.

Pictures I've seen of re-enactors vary a lot from what I think is prototypical looking to plain outright silly looking (I think ya'll call it "farb"), so that isn't much help. Plus what I think is prototypical looking might not actually be because I'm a noob.

I have a canteen on a sling, a cartridge case on a sling, a canvas haversack, and a cap pouch w/ belt loops, and of course a leather belt.

The way I have it planned, I would have the haversack on my left side and the cartridge box on my right side both slings underneath the leather belt, the cap pouch on the belt right side, and the canteen on the left side, sling not under the belt. Is that pretty close? Or did soldiers sort of wear stuff however they felt was most comfortable for them?

Thanks.

2 things...Don't listen to the SCV on uniform requirements, and be real careful on looking at reenactor uniform pictures, they many times get their authenticity from Hollywood!:rofl:

An authentic North Carolina Sack Coat, (great looking, but early war) or North Carolina Jacket would work. Run a search for both items, I'm off for work, can't give you much more info, but when I get home I'll have more time to help you out!

Kevin Dally

Yeah that's what I was saying. If it's gray it's close enough for them. :smile:
I have a shell jacket, but that's just what I have (none of the fancy stripes or trim and junk, just plain gray). Don't know if it is realistic NC or not.

Before I go, I'll post this bit of info I wrote in out unit's NL on the N.C. Jacket...sorry, can't post a pic of one right now...

Kevin Dally