New Texas Recruit

Fewer ads. Lots of American Civil War content!
JOIN NOW: REGISTER HERE!

FSPowers

Cadet
Greetings from San Antonio,

I stumbled on this site last weekend and it seems that I found a wonderful forum on Civil War Issues.

To introduce myself, my name is Fred S. Powers. I will post under FSPowers. I got hit with the CW bug in 1972 when my Dad took me to Gettysburg. I plan a return trip in 2007.

I became "reinterested" in 1990 while on duty in the USAF in England when I discovered magazines like "America's Civil War" and "Civil War Times". I'm a 21 year veteran of the Air Force and still serve as a Reservist (433 Airlift Wing). After 19 years as a Security Forces Member, a medical condition forced me into Education and Training.

I have a Bachelors and a Master Degree in History from a non-traditional (distance education) school that is accredited by an international agency which is not recognized by the US Department of Education. Because of that, I will not claim to be an expert, but I can say that I'm self taught. (A recent application to the National Archives with that information was rated at 93%, so I don't see that much of a problem. )

My favorite historians are Catton, Winik, Davis, Robertson, McPherson, Pohanka, Foote, and Bearss.

My CW library holds almost 200 books.

I own a few relics, including a company roster of Co. 10, Ohio Independent Sharpshooters (they became part of the 60th Ohio) which names an ancestor, Arnuah Norton, who died in Salisbury, NC prison on Nov 3, 1964. I also have scant knowledge of two Confederate officers who are ancestors.

I hope to one day take up reenacting. To that effect, I'm having two uniforms made and I own an reproduction Enfield rifle and I recently purchased some equipment.

I actually gave a lecture on the assault on Marye's Heights during an Air Force Reserve Instructor Course this past April.