Looking for Recommendations for a Paper/Document Restoration and Conservation Service

I have no experience here, but I'm looking for someplace that could restore a Civil War era ink drawing. It's water stained, creased and currently glued on an old piece of paper that's definitely not acid-free. Do any of you know of a place that you could recommend? In the Northeast is probably best, since I'd rather drop it off and pick it up in person rather than mail it.

Thanks in Advance!

Fairfield

Sergeant Major
Our historical society has had that kind of work done on various pieces. Each time we've gone to the state museum for recommendations. Like you, we don't want to ship our treasures off and prefer someone in the area. So, I'd suggest that you contact a museum, a college or university, or even a large historical society--all in your geographic area.

An excellent suggestion! Now I just have to find one that is open....

(I teach in Amherst, Mass; we have 5 colleges - Smith, Mount Holyoke, U of Mass, Amherst and Hampshire - within a 10 mile radius and all of them have gone remote.)

Fairfield

Sergeant Major
(I teach in Amherst, Mass; we have 5 colleges - Smith, Mount Holyoke, U of Mass, Amherst and Hampshire - within a 10 mile radius and all of them have gone remote.)
Those colleges maintain a database of their museum collections and services: https://museums.fivecolleges.edu/ This may be useful or simply a phone call. And since you're out in that lovely area, don't forget about the operations at Deerfield and Sturbridge Village.