Ladies, where do you get your dresses?

MamitaT

Cadet
I am new to reenacting, and I want to portray a southern woman who married a yankee soldier. (Think North and South's Billy & Brett). I was wondering, where does everyone get their dresses? I don't want to wear a camp dress...if I'm going to invest all kinds of money into a dress I want a 'better day dress'. Nothing too fancy, but nothing too plain either. Do you ladies make your own dresses? Or do you purchase them from a seamstress online or in your area? I can't seem to find what I'm looking for online, and I'm getting frustrated as our event is coming up at the end of May. Help please!

My wife makes her own, but she's a seamstress... Her rates start at $120 for the simplest bare bones dress w/ a turn around time of 6-8 weeks. Right now she has a backlog of I think 6 dresses. She ALWAYS suggests people sew their own as they will have a better understanding of fashion as well as being considerably cheaper. Past Patterns, which are made off of original garments & Elizibeth Stewart Clark has patterns, the only thing my wife tells women they need to buy is a corset. As for buying a dress go 100% cotton, plaids, paisly & some floral are ok and there are a variety of sources for good period material. The better half usually suggests a 3 part ensemble that can be mixed & matched to fit a variety of roles. Waist skirt & jacket that way you can get multiple jackets that match the skirt and have completely different looks. A Garibaldi tunic is a good option as it was in fashion at the time. A hat, parasoul or a bonnet though for a day dress she says nice hat or bonnet.

I would suggest Elizibeth Stewart Clark before anyone else when it comes to ladies gear. http://www.thesewingacademy.com/

http://www.themantuamaker.net/ has fancier Authentic dresses. Mrs Vivian is a nice lady and the better half speaks well of her work.