Histories of Reconstruction...advice please!

CordeliaElliot

Private
Dear Gang,

It has been many years since I studied Southern history from an academic perspective.

I need to get "caught up" on the major trends/theories/research/perspectives &c on Reconstruction and state nationalism; the South in general and Alabama in particular. I realise that a great deal must have been done since Stamp, Foner and Carter....might members of this esteemed forum advise on a suitable reading list?

Kind regards,

Cordelia

This link to BiblioVault might be of interest. There are two recently published works about Alabama reconstruction on their list: First Freedom: The Responses of Alabama's Blacks to Emancipation and Reconstruction by Peter Kolchin (2008), and The Yellowhammer War: The Civil War and Reconstruction in Alabama edited by Kenneth W. Noe (2014).

Two older books on the list that might be of interest are Death at Cross Plains: An Alabama Reconstruction Tragedy by Gene L. Howard (1994) and The Scalawag In Alabama Politics, 1865-1881 by Sarah Woolfolk Wiggins (1977).

Another recent book on the era is The Wars of Reconstruction: The Brief, Violent History of America's Most Progressive Era by Douglas R. Egertonn (2014). A lecture that Egerton gave on the book for CSPAN is here.

If you are interested in Civil War memory, then Remembering the Civil War: Reunion and the Limits of Reconciliation by Caroline E. Janney (2013) might be of interest. A lecture that Janney gave on the book [URL='http://www.c-span.org/video/?315077-1/Rememberingthe']is on CSPAN here. [/URL]

Alan

Last edited:
I have a specific interest in Reconstruction in Louisiana, but for various reasons haven't progressed much beyond: The Edge of the Sword, The Ordeal of Carpetbagger Marshall H. Twitchell by Ted Tunnell LSU press 2001 and
But there Was No Peace, George C. Rable, second revised edition, 2007. So if anyone here can help me, will be much appreciated.

Dear Alan,