HF Historical fiction book questions.

Historical-Fiction

BirdofHermes

Cadet
Hey!
I'm an aspiring author who had an idea for a collection of short stories set in a slightly fictionalized civil war era america. in the book a man from Arkansas goes to join the union army, first joining the regular infantry until eventually becoming a sharpshooter in late 1861. his skills being notable he is approached by a union general who makes him the private offer to be made apart of an experimental unit that would perform deep strike operations in the confederate south. the rest of the stories would be the experiences of him and his comrades throughout their miniaturized campaign through the south.
Now im fairly new to the civil war historical scene, and if im going to write this thing then dammit im going to make sure its done properly! i had a few immediate questions and would love to discuss this more with people who have made it their mission to learn, teach, and reenact this period of history, to ensure that not only are both sides of this war done justice but the people who have made this subject part of their lives can read this and be entertained by the idea it presents (without it being absolutely butchered by a man who doesnt have much knowledge on the subject.)
I'm not asking for research to be done for me or anything like that, but i would like to know of suggestions people have and ill try and post drafts of the stories to see what people think of it.
Thank you for your time and godspeed my friends!
BirdofHermes
P.S. it occurs to me i didn't actually ask any questions here. well here they are.
1) were there any kind of resistance movements within the confederacy? Be they political or paramilitary.
2) Should the unit have a specialized uniform (i was thinking of a VERY dark blue to help blend in with shadows during the night raids they would be conducting, with black rubber buttons similar to the sharpshooters so as not to give away their position.)