Finding birth place of a Union soldier

Desdra

Cadet
Hello all, this is my first time posting. I have an ancestor who served in the Pennsylvania 45th C company shortly after arriving in America from Ireland. I noticed that some soldiers recorded their town and country of birth in a few records but many only recorded the country including my ancestor. I'm trying to find out if there are any records that might contain a more detailed birthplace for a soldier. I'm having very little luck with immigration records as his name is extremely common in all of Ireland and the immigration records I can find only list the country as well. I'm on Ancestry, Family Search, and MyHeritage so I've been through as many records as I could find on those sites. I was surprised at the number of Civil War records, I never had to search for information on this war and expected a lot less.

Any ideas anyone has for where I might look for this information would be appreciated. Thank you!

If he's born in Ireland, you may very well never be able to discover exactly where he was born. As you've discovered, Irish records leave a lot to be desired. Who was he, where did he live in the US and what are his birth and death years?

I'm thinking, look at census records, marriage records and death records. If he became a US Citizen, that may or may not have it, too, but my ancestors' naturalization records just say "Ireland," and that's that. Look collaterally - did he have brothers or sisters who also came over? You might be able to find in their records what you can't in his. I also had an ancestor who was sent to the workhouse, and that DID list a county in Ireland under "birth," but two different workhouse registers listed two different counties.

A newspaper obituary might mention a place of birth as well.

Fairfield

Sergeant Major
Member of the Month
Welcome!