Period Cutting remarks: Grandma and Grampa’s favorite kitchen knife stories and care.

Mrs. V

First Sergeant
It was suggested that a thread on old and trusted blades be started. Let me tell you about one of the knives I got from my Grandparents. First I will tell you that they threw nothing away, so I have no idea how old the knife I have is. I can tell you it has a cream handle on it, made of some odd material, the blade is thin and quite flexable..maybe 4-5 inches long. When I took it to be sharpened the fellow looked at me like, “really” this old thing..yeah, once he had it sharpened his tune changed right quick. It holds an edge, is incredibly sharp, and needs a new handle..I hand wash it, and dry with a towel..carefully!

Now, what’s your favorite old knife?

Fewer ads. Lots of American Civil War content!
JOIN NOW: REGISTER HERE!

7thWisconsin

First Sergeant
My grandfather was a blacksmith by trade, and he made most of the tools used in my dad's household, including the kitchen knives. I have 2 of his knives still. One of them is with my reenacting gear, and I use it every time I go out. It takes a razor sharp edge to this day.

Mrs. V

First Sergeant
My grandfather was a blacksmith by trade, and he made most of the tools used in my dad's household, including the kitchen knives. I have 2 of his knives still. One of them is with my reenacting gear, and I use it every time I go out. It takes a razor sharp edge to this day.
I remember my Grandfather sharpening his knives by hand. Several of his paring knives had very thin blades. I always wondered if they were so thin because they got worn away? He used a whet stone to sharpen btw..

JPK Huson 1863

Brev. Brig. Gen'l
Forum Host