Cutting 4 inches off a Springfield rifle.

major bill

Brev. Brig. Gen'l
Forum Host
I was doing some research a a cadet program in the early 1870s and it stated that one cadet company used Springfield rifles with about 4 inches cut off the barrel while the remaining cadet companies fired carbines. I am no weapons expert and was wondering if cutting down Springfield rifles effected the accuracy of the rifle. I guess if all cadets fired shortened rifles at the target shoot, then all cadets were on an equal footing.

I was doing some research a a cadet program in the early 1870s and it stated that one cadet company used Springfield rifles with about 4 inches cut off the barrel while the remaining cadet companies fired carbines. I am no weapons expert and was wondering if cutting down Springfield rifles effected the accuracy of the rifle. I guess if all cadets fired shortened rifles at the target shoot, then all cadets were on an equal footing.
Only if they didn't put the front sight back on the barrel :D

I am no weapons expert and was wondering if cutting down Springfield rifles effected the accuracy of the rifle. I guess if all cadets fired shortened rifles at the target shoot, then all cadets were on an equal footing.