Cornith to Shiloh

atlantis

Sergeant Major
If I understand correctly the confederates sent all their forces to Shiloh on the same road. Was it possible to send them by more than one road so they could attack in linear formation.

This may be of help. It is from the Shiloh issue of Blue & Gray Magazine. Publisher Dave Roth made this map with input from the author of the article, Stacy D. Allen, the Chief Ranger at Shiloh NMP.
[Untitled]_2021090208442000.jpg

Would it have helped if the confederates had tried to flank by the road headed to owl creek.

Would it have helped if the confederates had tried to flank by the road headed to owl creek.
I'm not an expert on Shiloh, I know it's general flow, and principal commanders, but that's the first thing I notice when I look at the map. If Johnston, sends one of his corps on the road to Owl Creek, probably Hardee, as he was the biggest with 3 divisions. That would of allowed Johnston to flank the Union position. They could hit it from the front with 4 divisions (Clark, Cheatham, Ruggles, and Withers) and flank it with the other 3, you would still have Breckinridge's 3 brigades in reserve in that scenario. Again, I'm no expert, but, that seems like a good plan.

I'm not an expert on Shiloh, I know it's general flow, and principal commanders, but that's the first thing I notice when I look at the map. If Johnston, sends one of his corps on the road to Owl Creek, probably Hardee, as he was the biggest with 3 divisions. That would of allowed Johnston to flank the Union position. They could hit it from the front with 4 divisions (Clark, Cheatham, Ruggles, and Withers) and flank it with the other 3, you would still have Breckinridge's 3 brigades in reserve in that scenario. Again, I'm no expert, but, that seems like a good plan.