Company D, 12th New York Volunteer Infantry

Smelper

Cadet
My great, great grandfather, George Henry Weeks, enlisted on November 17, 1861 in Company D, 12th New York Volunteer Infantry. He was a drummer and was 17 at enlistment. Where can I find his enlistment records? Not sure of exact New York location; he was born in New York City. Any help would be very much appreciated. Thank you.

A quick search suggest the 12th was rounded up from the Elmira area. Here is the link I am using to just look: http://web.cortland.edu/woosterk/genweb/12_inf.html
It does seem to come from a single indivdual though, so take it with a grain of salt? Although this person at least updates the page when new information is brought in. I shall keep looking for you though!

Also, it appears there was George Henry Weeks, who fought through the Civil War and ended as a Brig. General during the Spanish American War, so you might run into trouble deciphering those two.

I'm not very good at researching, so I hope your efforts are better than mine!

Here's what I've got on George H. Weeks from the New York State records.

WEEKS, GEORGE H.-Age, 18 years. Enlisted, November 17, 1861, at New York City; mustered in as drummer, Co. D, November 22, 1861, to serve three years; captured at the battle of Chancellorsville, Va., May 3, 1863; paroled at United States Ford, Va., May 15, 1863; mustered out, September 19, 1863; rendered supernumerary.

Not a lot to go on but it's a start.

R

Smelper--

First off, welcome aboard the forum from Hampton Roads, Virginia. Good to have a new "recruit."