Sutlers- Cheers & Jeers Civil War-Era Machinist's Uniform

SWFirstModel

Private
Hello everyone,

As a firearms historian (and complete newbie to the world of reenacting and such), I'm interested in acquiring a period-correct outfit that a machinist in the Connecticut Valley would have worn in the late 1850's or early 1860's. My key historical interest is on the rise of the cartridge load revolver, and for my presentations and conference displays I think it would be fun to have an outfit representative of what a machinist would have worn at this time.

A quick Google search reveals plenty of companies providing period clothing, but I have no barometer about how historically accurate these various offerings are, and especially in terms of clothing selection. The most popular themes seem to be military uniforms and Wild West garb, neither of which is probably going to work for what I want to do.

I suspect there's a deep well of expertise here, and I'm hoping to get some opinions and directions on how I would best assemble this outfit that I'm imagining.

Mike

I would think a set of period coveralls would be a good fit. You might find some CDV's of men at work in Springfield or Colt etc via the national archive collection. I might suggest contacting Chris Sullivan at Stonybrook; the man is a wealth of information and would easily be able to point you in the correct direction.

http://www.stonybrookcompany.com/

I would think a set of period coveralls would be a good fit. You might find some CDV's of men at work in Springfield or Colt etc via the national archive collection. I might suggest contacting Chris Sullivan at Stonybrook; the man is a wealth of information and would easily be able to point you in the correct direction.

I'm face-palming myself for not having thought of a pair of coveralls. This is brilliant, and I'll reach out to Chris.

Mike