Capt George Todd

archieclement

Colonel
A stone mason by trade, George Todd was born in Montreal Canada in 1839. In 1849 Todd's family moved to Missouri and settled in the Kansas City area. At the beginning of the civil war, George Todd and his father were bridge and railroad contractors. The blue eyed, auburn haired, light complexioned Todd joined the Missouri State Guard shortly after the beginning of the war, fighting at Carthage, Wilson's Creek, and Lexington. Upon the expiration of his terms of service to the guard, Todd joined Quantrill's band in late Dec 61 or early Jan 1862, and was elected the units 3rd LT. Before long, Todd became Quantrill's right hand man and earned a reputation as fierce fighter

While a member of Quantrill's band , Todd fought at several engagements, including Independence (Aug 11th 1862) where he used sledgehammers to free two men from jail, at Westport (June 17th 1863) Todd and Quantrill lead the charge that broke the Federals, Lawrence Raid where he lead the assault on the Eldridge Hotel and later covered Quantrill's retreat, at Baxter Springs (Oct 6 1863) Todd's men lead the attack on Fort Blair, At Fayette where he served under Bloody Bill Anderson, and at Centralia Todd led the charge on AVE Johnston's federals.

One former guerrilla recorded that when not in battle Todd was mild mannered and quiet, while Andrew Walker called Todd a tyrant. Clarifying Walker also recorded Todd was overbearing among his own men, quick tempered, and bent on having things his own way. Not as popular as Quantrill, Todd proved to be a formidable fighter and as a brave man as ever went into battle. In combat Frank Smith recalled that Todd knew no fighting but to charge. Quantrill did the planning, Todd did the executing. John Edwards called Todd Quantrill's "thunderbolt" while William Gregg labelled Todd "a maniac in battle". Wounded nine times during the war, George Todd had few equals among the guerrillas.