Blank paper cartridges

ronmcc4

Cadet
Howdy - as you can see I'm new here. But - I'm not at all new to firearms including those of historical significance. I reload and shoot a lot - almost all black powder.

I haven't started re-enacting yet but may get into it. I have acquired an 1859 Sharps Cavalry Carbine reproduction by Pedersoli. I'm new to making paper cartridges but am getting the hang of it and am having lots of fun with the rifle. My questions is about making blank paper cartridges for demonstration and possibly future re-enacting. I've made some blanks to test but, naturally, since theres no bullet to stop them, the blank paper cartridges want to slide down into the barrel. I've thought of maybe thickening the front of the cartridge with more nitrate paper or something but know there must be a pretty standard way to make paper blanks for this rifle since I'm sure lot's of re-enactors must use it.

So - what methods do you use in making your blank paper cartridges for the Sharps?

Dixie Gunworks sells a kit for making the Sharps Cartridge, to be honest I've not heard the mention of the cartridge sliding forward being an issue. What size are your finished cartridges? It sounds like the diameter is a bit small.