Ancestry.com Rookie Beginner Questions and Help

alan polk

1st Lieutenant
My aunt wants to get on Ancestry.com. I’m not very tech savvy and she is certainly not.

Can folks here answer some basic questions before we get started?

Question 1: Even after the free trial ends and we begin to pay them, can you only pay to use it for a couple months more, cancel, then use it again later? Is this ever a problem with Ancestry.com? Do they allow it?

Question 2: I notice there is an option to get the $35.00 package. Is this worth it at all? What does that get us compared to the cheaper package? We would like to access newspapers, obits, military records, etc.

Thanks so much! And if anyone wishes to give any suggestions and advice in researching tactics to us rookies (in a kindergarten format or level) it would be appreciated.

My aunt wants to get on Ancestry.com. I’m not very tech savvy and she is certainly not.

Can folks here answer some basic questions before we get started?

Question 1: Even after the free trial ends and we begin to pay them, can you only pay to use it for a couple months more, cancel, then use it again later? Is this ever a problem with Ancestry.com? Do they allow it?

Question 2: I notice there is an option to get the $35.00 package. Is this worth it at all? What does that get us compared to the cheaper package? We would like to access newspapers, obits, military records, etc.

Thanks so much! And if anyone wishes to give any suggestions and advice in researching tactics to us rookies (in a kindergarten format or level) it would be appreciated.