Trivia 6-18-19 Who Am I

Fewer ads. Lots of American Civil War content!
JOIN NOW: REGISTER HERE!
Status
Not open for further replies.

Trivia Master

The Keeper of Knowledge
Forum Host
I was born in Indiana in poor circumstances but through hard work and perseverance I became a influential member of society. I came a printer by trade and owned and published a small local newspaper. When war came I was instrumental in raising a company for an Illinois regiment though I declined a commission and enlisted as a private. I was detailed as a clerk to General Grant’s headquarters and received promotions till I eventually replaced John Rawlins as Assistant Adjutant-General, a position I held till the end of the ACW. I was later appointed Brig Brigadier-General a rank I held till my tragic death shorty after the war ended.

Who am I and how did I die?

credit: @Ole Miss

My guess is Theodore S. Bowers. He died in a train accident March 7th, 1866.

He was boarding General Grant's railroad car as the train was leaving Garrison's Station .. opposite West Point. They had stopped there the previous day to drop Grant's son at the Point. Bowers grabbed the handrail of Grant's car ... the motion of the train caused him to fall between Grant's car and the car ahead. He died instantly as he was run over and dragged some distance by the train.

https://civilwartalk.com/threads/lt-colonel-theodore-s-bowers-asst-adjutant-general-to-grant.141921/#post-1779293

Note: Bowers was not born in Indiana, but in Pennsylvania. He only moved to Mount Carmel at a very young age.

Wallyfish

First Sergeant
I am hoping our man is Theodore S Bowers.

He was killed on March 7,1866 when he attempted to grab the handrail on Grant's rail car. The motion of the car resulted in Bowers falling under the car and he was run over and dragged for some distance. Talk about gruesome deaths, geez!

Only concern is Bowers was born in Pa not Indiana but everything else fits.

CWT thread on Bowers.

gentlemanrob