Trivia 5-12-16 Who am I and What did I do?

Trivia Master

The Keeper of Knowledge
Forum Host
I was born in England in 1822 and moved to the United States in the 1830's. A machinist by trade, I found my true talents were in law enforcement. My superiors recognized my abilities and recommended me to a man who ran a new form of agency. In early 1861, myself and a small group of operatives successfully prolonged the life of one of America's most important men. At the outbreak of the war I became an undercover currier for the CSA, alas I took Ill and through an attempt to render me aid I was detected which lead to my being hanged twice.

Who am I and for whom did I work?

credit: @War Horse

You are Timothy Webster and you worked for the Pinkerton Detective Agency. And you even were a double agent!
http://www.americancivilwarstory.com/timothy-webster.html

What a life! What a death! Excellent question!! I had never heard of Webster before.

upload_2016-5-12_15-3-32.png

http://civilwarwomenblog.com/charlotte-sprowles-webster/

You are Timothy Webster and initially he was hired by General George McClellan as a Union spy.........but on the Confederate side he was" hired" by Secretary of War Judah Benjamin but was in fact a double agent who was hung in Richmond.

Edit - I found a source saying that McClellan hired Pinkerton "and his men" to gather intelligence for him. I can't find anything indicating that Webster reported directly to McClellan, but it is apparent that he did work for him, so I will accept this answer.

Hoosier

Last edited by a moderator: