War Crime?

CMWinkler

Colonel
Retired Moderator
My eldest brother, C. A. Peddicord, was a member of the "Summer Greys," Company K, Second Tennessee Infantry, mustered in at Richmond, Va., May 14, 1861, and the youngest, C. J. Peddicord, was a member of Ben Hardin Helm's First Kentucky Cavalry. He was taken out of prison at Gallatin, Tenn., during Gen. Payne's reign, and shot near the farm of a Mr. Malone because he refused to guide or inform on his friends. C. A. Peddicord was fatally wounded in an encounter at the close of the war with three ex-Federal soldiers at Glasgow, Ky., and died near Glasgow Junction, where both lie buried at the family grounds of the "Old Bell Tavern."

Confederate Veteran 1902 p 214

Was C. J. Peddicord the victim of a war crime?

So he was shot twice? Ooops. Never mind. Yeah, the first man, maybe. The second one? Not enough info

Murder, I guess. Maybe a war crime - shrug

Peddicord-Carolus-J_.jpg

I'm not a lawyer, but I would suggest that the difference between a a crime which just happens to occur during a war and a war crime is that the war criminal's purpose is related to his conduct of the war. C.A. Peddicord's death would seem to be the former, C.J.'s the latter.

General Eleazor Paine has a very bad reputation hereabouts. The stories of his depredations have been passed down even to the third and fourth generations. I was being a bit facetious about the war crime though I think it was. The other brother was clearly just a crime.

Paine was infamous for his murders. One was a 12 year old boy who was found near the L&N railway near the bridge at Station Camp Creek. He claimed he was going to fish and had a cane pole but was accused of sabotage. He was brought to General Paine who ordered him executed. He was. Bad times in Sumner County.

. . . C.A. was shot long after the war by three or four citizens. It is C.J. that is the subject of @CMWinkler's question.