My Return to Newnan, Confederate Hospitals

Dustin P.

Cadet
Hi everybody. Im from Cleburne County Al, 26 years old, and i work in construction. shout out to the late, great George Jones! alright i got that out of the way,down to business. Ive always had a passion for history, especially historical places and artifacts and i assume thats why we are all here. Ive been on an adventure lately following as much of the Atlanta campaign as time allows me so yes i had to trade my ol' horse in for a nissan because he couldnt run 70 mph on interstate highways so the experience of riding towards Kennesaw in full gallop with guns-a-blazin was shot down by Georgia PD. But seriously, my last adventure led me to a beautiful town we know as Newnan Ga. i Carefully read all the historical info signs and maps while walking the trails as i always do. My favorite part of visiting these battle fields is when i learn the facts and locations of the events then realizing "wow, im standing where it all happened " I have became addicted to that cold chill, my friends. but visiting Browns Mill was so different. i usually try to act like an intelligent history buff when someone tags along. but not in Newnan. i had read about the confederate hospitals while there. im not saying a higher power was involved but something came over me that ill never forget. ive never been so touched like that. after all the tragedies of war and horror ive researched , how did this one location affect me? i was so desperate to know more on this subject i googled the local court house phone # almost begging for information on events there. Crazy right?? What is so significant about this place that ive got to go back. Ive had so many dreams about the place and its hospitals since that day. i can hardly find any info about this except for one pic. Something else that unnerves me is that i also have dreams of talking to the nurseses and with living relatives of the nurses that witnessed the horror. its so strange. its