How my Cousin was Killed

samgrant

Captain
Retired Moderator
I noticed in my GGGF’s (Franklin Dwight Cossitt) testimony to the Southern Claims Commission that he had 2 cousins in the Federal service and 2 in the Confederate service.
http://civilwartalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24502&page=2

I started with one of the two first cousins I found, Henry Clay Cossitt, a Union soldier. See “A Story of a Search”.
http://civilwartalk.com/forums/researching-your-civil-war-ancestry/26971-story-search.html

Now I introduce Charles Edward Cossitt, a captain in the Confederate Army.

Again I first found information about Charles in a family history. It said:

Charles Edward, born March, 1837. He was a graduate of William and Mary College of Virginia, and was a lawyer by profession, located at Memphis, Tenn. Received his license to practice law from Lebanon, Wilson County, Tenn., Jan 4. 1860. In 1861, he became a captain in the Confederate Army, and was killed in 1863 in the memorable fight between Morgan and Colonel Hall, near Milton Springs, Tenn., in the battle of Liberty, Tenn. They were retreating and lost their colors. He volunteered to go after them, and was killed after regaining them.”

Well that’s the story apparently passed down through the family. Whether that bit about the colors is true or not, the rest of the story is fairly accurate. The battle was actually called “Vaught’s Hill” or “Milton”.

From various sources, here is what I learned about Charles Edward Cossitt (frequently misspelled “Cossett”):

Captain Charles E. Cossitt, Company C 2nd Tennessee Volunteer Infantry Regiment (Walker’s)

The 2nd Tennessee Infantry was organized May 11, 1861 at Memphis, Tennessee; mustered into Confederate Service August 10, 1861.