Help ID a Civil War? era bullet

sandfisher

Cadet
I'm new to identification on Civil War items.
Here's the story. I found a new place to metal detect in a park(legal in city parks). In a small area over 1 month I have dug over 100 coins, 1 - 1881 Indian head penny, ton of junk, few buttons (don't think these are old, not sure) and this bullet.
I have done some research, but still clueless on an actual ID.
Any idea on the type of bullet.
It is 11 mm X 7 mm
Thank you,
sandfisher

Attachments

• PB170061c.jpg
    PB170061c.jpg
    35.9 KB · Views: 1,198
  • PB170062.jpg
    PB170062.jpg
    81.8 KB · Views: 727
  • PB080053.jpg
    PB080053.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 433
  • PB080054.jpg
    PB080054.jpg
    82.4 KB · Views: 454
There are a few things you can deductively do to narrow your search. The first being the location of where you're digging. If you're digging in a city park in Cheyenne, Wyoming I would say its probably not a CW bullet. If you are digging in Ringgold, Georgia your chances of it being a CW bullet would be much better. If there is one there should be more. Usually you won't just find one bullet but at least a few. Battlefields, camp areas and anywhere Civil War soldiers spent a few minutes would be littered with debris including bullets even after aggresive metal detecting.

What else are you finding in the area? If you are finding only post Civil War dated coins and items chances are more than likely your bullet is an old hunting bullet or modern round. Towards the middle and end of the war the types of bullets you would find are pretty standard; ie 3 ring minnie, Enfields, Gardners, Spencers, Sharps etc. The bullet you found looks to be a generic "pickett" type round which would be nearly impossible to track.

I seem to see a type of green oxidation on the bullet. Does the bullet have a guilding metal (a mixture of copper and zinc) jacket covering a lead core? If so, then I would classify the bullet as late 19th or 20th century origin.