Can you please help me identify this /saber

Jbaileyjr

Cadet
Hello all, I am new to the form and site. I look forward to learning more about people's collections and history. I was hoping for some assistance in identifying a saber I acquired about 15 years ago. When I acquired the saber depicted in the attached photographs, I was not able to get very much information about the maker, year, etc. In the attached pictures, there is no discernible makers Mark(s) on the blade (does not appear to have much rust or pitting, so I'm wondering if perhaps someone cleaned it "thoroughly" before I procured). the only marks I can discern are what appears to be the number 40 on the top of the underside of the guard and 35S on the end of the pommel ( apologies if I'm using the wrong terms). It was represented to me as an authentic 1860s era cavalry saber, but again the person from whom I procured it did not have any other identifying information, so if it is not authentic of course that is on me. Thanks to everyone for any assistance you can provide.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    242.9 KB · Views: 253
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    244.4 KB · Views: 247
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    254.3 KB · Views: 244
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    240.7 KB · Views: 236
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    133.4 KB · Views: 275
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    175.8 KB · Views: 237
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    188.7 KB · Views: 257
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    201.1 KB · Views: 244
Hello and Welcome. If those are the only marks and there are none on the blade up by the guard, Look on the top of the blade spine and see if there are any marks there.

Hello and Welcome. If those are the only marks and there are none on the blade up by the guard, Look on the top of the blade spine and see if there are any marks there.
Thanks unfortunately I do not see any other marks, unless I'm looking at the wrong part of the blade