Best site for pic search? (Newbie here! Merry Christmas!)

Hi-- thanks for the add to this site. Just discovered CW vet 2nd Gr. Gpa. on Ancestry.com. Stumbling around internet for more info., relatives, & especially any pics. Here is the info I have, both military and general. Any tips. insights, etc. appreciated.

John Dunivan, b.1831, in KY. Signed up with 4th regiment, Calvary, Kentucky (Dec. 1861?) (Last name could have alt. spellings: Donovan, Donovon, Dunnivan, Dunavin) Seems he also lived Missouri for a time, where there were many Dunivans. The only other record I found on him is the 1880 census, showing him still in KY, working as a farmhand w/ a young son (Andy C. Dunivan), no wife.

sandcam.jpg
Welcome to CivilWarTalk, from Wet (and Cold!) Texas.

John Dunivan's Compiled Service Record in the Fourth Kentucky Cavalry (Union) refers back to the file of John Donovan -- but there are two men of that name listed for that regiment, one 21 years old and one 38 years old, neither of which squares with a birth year of 1831.

Attachments

• sandcam.jpg
    sandcam.jpg
    59 KB · Views: 18
Hi-- thanks for the add to this site. Just discovered CW vet 2nd Gr. Gpa. on Ancestry.com. Stumbling around internet for more info., relatives, & especially any pics. Here is the info I have, both military and general. Any tips. insights, etc. appreciated.

John Dunivan, b.1831, in KY. Signed up with 4th regiment, Calvary, Kentucky (Dec. 1861?) (Last name could have alt. spellings: Donovan, Donovon, Dunnivan, Dunavin) Seems he also lived Missouri for a time, where there were many Dunivans. The only other record I found on him is the 1880 census, showing him still in KY, working as a farmhand w/ a young son (Andy C. Dunivan), no wife.